Market Day

Yesterday, like every Saturday, was market day in Keszthely! A lot of people here seem to prefer to pick up their produce here over the larger stores, and it’s easy to see why. The prices are pretty great… the atmosphere is even better.

I’m thinking this will be a pretty good place to practice my Hungarian, too, once I get a little further into my understanding of it.

So, until then, this is my view for quite some time:

Michelle and I are taking two 1 and a half hour classes weekly, and just learning the alphabet is sort of mind-blowing! We’ll get better, but for now we’ll just stick to the easy phrases like “thank you” köszönöm, and “see you later” viszontlάtάsra. 🙂

7 Comments on “Market Day”

  1. Sierra says:

    Wow, that IS a crazy alphabet. But I can imagine what the market is like, and it probably is really fun, and it’ll help with your Hungarian. We have a similar thing here, but it’s not for produce. Hope your enjoying getting settled!

  2. Marvalyn Zix says:

    The produce looks so colorful and tempting! Did you buy any to try? Is it just like in the U.S. or did you find things you’ve never seen before? Yum!
    As for the language, I’m afraid I’d have to stick to Thank You and See You Later for a long time. Yikes! I’ll be praying for you to learn easily.

    • Bethany says:

      I bought a couple of (really good) apples and some flowers for our Hungarian teacher’s wife. There were definitely things I’d never seen before, but I have no idea what they were called. I think next time I’m going to try some of the local honey. Miss you Aunt Marvalyn!

  3. That looks so beautiful! I haven’t gotten to go to a farmer’s market in months. I think the one in St.Pete is up again…
    As for the new language…I’d probably have to stick with hand gestures. lol

  4. Those really good apples would be fabulous with some really good peanut butter! Have you found some? Praying for you!

  5. Freda Gooch says:

    The market place really looks interesting. A little like a Farmer’s Market or Flea Market here, maybe? Really colorful. Must have been chilly, saw a lot of jackets. Praying the language will come quicker than you might expect. Guess I would have to shorten it more, like: ‘See ya’ – Love, Grandma


Leave a Reply

